Why Sleeves? Just need a pocket for Chapstick.

Road trip from CO to CT in four days! Here it is.

Friday, July 19, Dad, Megan, and I flew to Denver to retrieve the Black Knight and to visit some much-loved family.

The Black Knight

The Black Knight, Toyota Corolla

 

Day 1 run: The family came at around mile 3 of my 6 mile run around the neighborhoods of Colorado with a cold bottle of water. I could get used to that. Switching directions on a circle run a little over half way helps mentally.

New bright shirt to rep CT and so cars don't hit me. Gotta be smart!

New bright shirt to rep CT and so cars don’t hit me. Gotta be smart!

 

25 in and outs, 25 bicycles, 25 backward bicycles, 25 big scissor switches, 25 v-up roll ups, 40 mason twists, 10 jelly belly’s (tuck, pike, straddle), two 1 minute planks, five 15 second bridges, Attempted the swan, 8 sets of 10 push ups mixed in, tried to learn the Chain Saw (dance).

Attempting the swan. Feet are supposed to touch head.

Attempting the swan. Feet are supposed to touch head…

 

I came to a few pressing questions:

1. WHY DID THEY EVERY PUT SLEEVES ON RUNNING SHIRTS?

2. How do you stay hydrated when you’re running tens of miles by yourself?

3. Where do I put my chapstick?

 

My answers to date, comment if you have other solutions:

1. Who knows, but I’m wearing tank tops and the like from now on. Until winter obviously.

2. Drive the run ahead of time, leave water a water bottle or two to drink along the way (I have yet to actually do).

3.  Chapstick necklace (got one from my cousin in CO!), chapgrip clip onto my shirt/pants (still experimenting), sow on chapstick pockets?

Attempt #1 on the chapstick pocket, and very excited.

Attempt #1 on the chapstick pocket, made possible by Dad’s old T-shirt and a sewing machine. I’m satisfied.

 

Another thing, I had a baad tummy ache (not stomach ache, it’s more in your intestines than stomach) the whole time. I’ve found that with cramps or constant tummy aches, it helps to switch up my gate. Some skips and stretches.

I love how animal life on runs changes depending  on where you are. Colorado had more bunnies than I had ever seen. Also sadder roadkill.

Another great thing about running: you can enjoy dessert more! Oreo mint blizzard at DQ has been my go-to lately.

 

20130719_201344

The trip was this: Colorado, Wyoming, South Dakota, Minnesota, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, Connecticut. Approximately 10 hours of driving a day, switching drivers every 2 hours, and seeing some sites along the journey.

Points of interest: Mount Rushmore, Mall of America, guitar center, Museum in Clarion, PA.

Cheapest gas: $3.39

Hotel parking lot workouts: 50 Jumping jacks, 2 min run, 12 pushups, 2 min run, 40 squats, 2 min run, 25 JJ, 1 min run, 12 pushups, 1 min run, 20 squats, 40 seconds planks into 40 mason twists.

 

Mount Rushmore in pouring rain, and HAIL! Worth it.

Mount Rushmore in pouring rain, and HAIL! Worth it.

Mall of America!

Mall of America!

Guess what....  They're Crocs!

Guess what….
They’re Crocs!

Museum in Clarion. I like that town a lot.

Museum in Clarion. I like that town a lot.

 

Back at home, Megan and I biked to the library (7.7 miles) after some pool swimming, lunges, squats, pushups, and planks. Biking is a good workout when ya try hard. I realize more and more just how hilly my town is. Biking switches up the pace and muscles you use!

 

More to come!

One thought on “Why Sleeves? Just need a pocket for Chapstick.

Leave a Reply

