This summer so far

Where to begin!

It has been a summer full of family and new adventures. We’ve celebrated Megan’s poem being published, traveled, made things, broken things. It’s been the sweetest.

First, our daytrip to NYC. Steve and I were newbs to Broadway, but we got around the city pretty well. Actually, I converted from dumb to smart phone the night before to make it easier. I do still believe in maps. Mama Mia was great, again, made me want to dance. I was surprised to know all the songs, since Megan loves the movie version. Who knew they were almost exactly the same! (Obviously not me). We went to the Stardust Cafe afterwards. All the talented people trying to get on Broadway, or in between shows, are the servers and take turns singing songs. That might have been my favorite part.

Library for the nerds that love to read (all three of us)

Library for the nerds that love to read (all three of us)

20130608_120912

20130608_134435

 

Next, SCUBA! Don’t know where the idea came from, but it has been such a blast! Started the week after I got back from school with the knowledge tests, pool contained water practice, and finally onto Mashapaug (aka Bigelow). What is at the bottom you wonder? Muck, rocks, muscles, wood, and a picnic table. The fish were quite friendly and ate right out of our hands. I have to say, it took a while to get the buoyancy, breathing, and depth down, but after a few trips, I feel like a real diver!

Open Water Certification day!

Open Water Certification day!

Best instructor ever! He was so patient, and a real pro!

Best instructor ever! He was so patient, and a real pro!

 

Then school started. Microbiology over the summer. Fun right?! It hasn’t been so bad. If you need to know which disinfectants are most effective or the kinds of tests they run on bacterium, I’m your girl.

Nana has been a doll taking care of me and just chatting as we work on various projects. She helped me apply to jobs, make this apron, and organize my many, many chargers. She is such a blessing! You know that song by the Vespers, Eyes Wide Open? Nana’s a heart. Except she’s still kickin’ as sweet and active as ever.

The final product. Made from all the materials Nana already had!

The final product. Made from all the materials Nana already had!

 

The Dad-Audrey project is this: store all my many books on one bookcase that can be transported 12 hours in a car and will fit in my bedroom. The plans are looking good. We bought one cheap, pretty close to our design at a tagsale (I think it’s brand new), and plan to adjust shelf heights. I love a good tagsale. More handy-woman skills to be acquired this summer.

Bookcase for building, Dad and Audrey project to complete before I go back to school

Bookcase for building, Dad and Audrey project to complete before I go back to school

 

And Leslie. They’re going to take her goods and crush her to a cube. I’ve come to terms.

Leslie the 22 year old Acclaim off the the junkyard

Leslie the 22 year old Acclaim off the the junkyard

 

Forth of July trip to Mass! We missed Kaitlin. We saw the Lone Ranger. Anyone else? Did you like it?

Sound like "family," doesn't it?

Sound like “family,” doesn’t it?

 

The crowning moment of this summer (maybe)… making homemade pickles! The mix was a present from Stephen for Christmas. Creative boy, I know, I thought so too. Finally they are in the pickling stages and ready to eat in a few weeks! All you need is jars, water, vinegar, pickle mix, and pickling cukes. See the full recipe here: http://www.freshpreserving.com/recipe.aspx?r=270

Been waiting for this day for SO long

Been waiting for this day for SO long

Next adventure: Colorado!

Leave a Reply

